Veludo-new Guida de Palma & JazzinhoLiner notes

Words cannot convey the honour and joy I felt the moment Guida asked me to write the sleeve notes for this new lp from Jazzinho. Her name is synonymous with quality and can be said in the same breath as Purim, Maria, Regina, and Costa due to her vocal ingenuity, her depth of experience and her remarkable song writing abilities. Jazzinho as a musical project has been Guida’s baby from its inception over 10 years ago and she has nurtured and guided it to a point of near musical perfection. We know this to be the case by the love and respect shown her by peers and fans alike from the Brazilian musical world and beyond.

The stellar line up of musicians on this outing are a veritable who’s who of quality musicianship and consists of members of (or collaborators with) the likes of Incognito, Eric Clapton, Jamiroquai, Amy Winehouse, Sting, Nathalie Cole, Brand New Heavies, etc., etc. Chief amongst these luminaries is Leon Ware, a man of god-like musical status (producer and writer for Marvin Gaye and Quincy Jones) who appears on this set as a vocalist and songwriter alongside Guida on the future classic ‘A Seed in You’. All these factors combined have culminated in a collection of songs that are the perfect fusion of soul, jazz and quality Braziliance.

I have been an avid lover of quality music from the age of 9 when I first pressed my face against the window of my local record shop to see what mysteries lay within – in the two score years that have passed since then I’m finding it hard to remember an LP as perfect as this one with its lush string arrangements, sublime harmonies, exquisite lyrics and irresistible rhythms (special mention to ‘Celebration’ and ‘April’s Fool’).

This LP really is a thing of beauty and it feels to me that it was made with love and given with pleasure. We Love Jazzinho.
Tony Minvielle – Straight No Chaser

A studio album by Guida de Palma & Jazzinho

Recorded in London, UK :

Produced by Graham Harvey

Mixed and Mastered by Richard Bull –

Ian Thomas – Drums

Laurence Cottle – Bass

John Parricelli – Guitar

Graham Harvey – Piano, Rhodes and Keyboards

Thomas Dyani – Percussion

Martyn Shaw – Trumpet and Flugelhorn

Gareth Lochrane – all Flutes

Femi Temowo – Guitar solo on “Ready to feel again”

Leon Ware – Lead and background Vocals on “A seed in you”

Guida de Palma – Lead and background vocals

Recorded at Clown’s pocket by Derek Nash –

Catering by Beverley Nash

Recorded in los Angeles, USA :

Vocals recorded at Leon Ware Music.

In Lisbon, Portugal :

Vocals recorded at by Guida de Palma

Strings by The Lisbon International Symphony  Orchestra –

Conducted by Maestro Pedro Amaral and recorded at Namouche Estudio by Joaquim Monte. Schoeps microphones placed by João Paulo Nogueira and hired from

Strings Fixer : Laurent Rossi

Recording assistants : Tim Russ, Pedro Villasboas e Francisco Ganchinho

Recorded in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Recording of Thomas Dyani percussions


Direct Metal Mastering by Hendrik Pauler at

Manufacturing both CDs and Vinyl PLs: Pallas Group –

Direct Metal Mastering by Hendrik Pauler at

Manufacturing both CDs and Vinyl PLs::

Pallas Group –

Artwork by Todd Marrone –

Photos by Kenton Thatcher –

Layout by Anne McPherson

Executive Producer : Stephan Chalangeas for Toca Piano Fala Francês Unip. Lda.

Distribution: Proper Distribution

License in Japan: P-Vine